The Bayeux Tapestry
The story of William’s Conquest is told visually through the Bayeux Tapestry, a seventy metre long embroidery thought to have been commissioned around 1077 by Bishop Odo of Bayeux, William’s half brother. It was found in Bayeux Cathedral, built by Odo, and is thought to have been produced in Kent, Odo’s English base.
To scroll along the Bayeux tapestry (a Victorian replica now on display in Reading Museum), please click here.
For a free online book about the tapestry, with images of the original work, please click here.